Sophie and Abel tied the knot surrounded by their friends and family in a romantic ceremony at their local church

Sophie and Abel met at work. “Abel had the cheek to ask my boss to set us up on a date,” says Sophie. “My boss suggested I go for a drink with him as I was new to the role. I thought he was really fun and attractive and we’ve been together ever since.”

Abel popped the question during a trip to South Africa. “We had been on a beautiful safari and popped back to our villa to change for dinner,” shares the bride. “He took us on a different route to the restaurant, which I happily followed as I have zero sense of direction. Turns out he had planned a private dinner for us, complete with candles, flowers, champagne and incredible views of the stunning landscape. During dinner he asked me to marry him, and I cried (a lot). It was the best day of my life.”

Sophie and Abel's contacts

Ceremony venue, St Elizabeth of Portugal RC Church, www.stelizabethschurch.org.uk
Reception venues, Petersham Nurseries, www.petershamnurseries.com; Terrace Bar at Revolution, www.revolution-bars.co.uk
Photographer, Helen Jones Photography, www.helenjonesphotography.co.uk
Bride's dress, Surrey Brides, www.surreybrides.co.uk
Bride's shoes, Sophia Webster, www.sophiawebster.com
Bridesmaids' dresses, David's Bridal, www.davidsbridal.co.uk
Hair and make-up artist, Amanda White, www.amandawhite.co.uk
Groom's suit, Suitsupply, www.suitsupply.com
Groomsmen's suits, French Connection, www.frenchconnection.com
Cake, Le Papillon Cakes, www.lepapilloncakesuk.com
Flowers, Bramble & Moss, www.brambleandmoss.co.uk
Calligraphy, Kate Ridyard Calligraphy, www.kateridyardcalligraphy.co.uk
Balloons, Bubblegum Balloons, www.bubblegumballoons.co.uk
Transport, Parker Car Service, www.parkercarservice.co.uk; White London Taxi Wedding Cars, www.whitelondontaxis.com; Mayday Travel, www.coachhirelondon.co.uk
Harpist, Rebeca Jones, www.rebecajones.co.uk
Band, Soul Supreme, www.soulsupremeband.com
Singer, Michael McLaughlin
Wedding coordinator, Trust in Love, www.trustinloveweddings.com
Guest accommodation, Richmond Hill Hotel, www.richmondhill-hotel.co.uk

 
Finding the perfect flowers for a 1920s theme

Finding the perfect flowers for a 1920s theme

The 1920s were all about black, white and gold highlights and opulence with sultry lighting. To...

 
Get married at the contemporary, Brooklands Hotel

Get married at the contemporary, Brooklands Hotel

Brooklands Hotel is a contemporary, design-led property located on the site of the iconic...

 
Check out this stunning shoot at Marden Park Mansion

Check out this stunning shoot at Marden Park Mansion

"An intimate African wedding set up where a diverse group of suppliers," says Dooshi Kallee from...

 
Ruth and Richard tied the knot surrounded by loved ones at Zinnia Gardens

Ruth and Richard tied the knot surrounded by loved ones at Zinnia Gardens

Ruth and Richard met at work. "He was my duty manager, and I worked in the...

Inspiration from our great team of Editors at County Wedding Magazines!

To help you find inspiration for your big day, take a look at what's caught the eye of our editors.

There are literally hundreds of ideas, products and services from wedding suppliers across the UK along with links to their web sites as pointed out by our ever resourceful team.

Take a look at what our Editors Love!